Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) Scholarships

  Roorkee   AICTE, MHRD, Public (Autonomous)   ESTD 1847
  Roorkee   AICTE, MHRD, Public (Autonomous)   ESTD 1847


IIT Roorkee Scholarships

Many financially backward students are unable to pay the tuition fees for their courses. IIT Roorkee makes sure that no one is left for this reason. The institute offers financial aid for them to help them realise their dreams of higher education. Merit cum Means Scholarships are awarded by the institution to the students who have good merit but are unable to afford the tuition fees. 25% of the undergraduate students are eligible for this scholarship.

IIT Roorkee offers James Thomason Scholarship based on the JEE examination rank. Candidates are only eligible if they have ranked up to 300 in JEE or if they are the best-ranked student in the department with a rank below 500. The scholarship provides 25,000 per month to the student availing it.

IIT Roorkee provides trust scholarships to students fulfilling certain criteria. For example, the Air Cmdr Shyam Chand Mehra Scholarship is awarded to female students only. IIT Alumni Association UK fund is for the students whose parental income is less than 4.5 lakhs per annum and the candidate scores a minimum of 6.5 CGPA score in their exams. Jai Prakash Seva Sansthan Scholarship is awarded to every student in courses. PhD students are awarded a monthly stipend for their research work. Apart from scholarships, education loans are also available for students from specific banks.