Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB) 2016: Schedule for supernumerary seats declared

The schedule for supernumerary seats has been declared by Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB). CSAB comes under the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The supernumerary round is for students from Union Territory (UTs) who can apply under the Home State quota at three NITs, namely Durgapur, Calicut and Surat.

Students from Andaman & Nicobar Islands should apply at NIT Durgapur. Those from Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu should apply at SVNIT Surat. Students from Lakshwadeep and Kandvi should apply at NIT Calicut.

Eligibility for applying through supernumerary round:

Candidates having their State code of eligibility as any of the UTs, as per their class XII certificate/ mark sheet and who did not get a seat till round 6 can apply


 Candidates who did not report against an allotment in an earlier round.

Candidates who reported against allotted seat to RC or PI but the seat was cancelled due to change in the category and are still un-allotted.

Candidates who reported against allotted seat to RC but withdrew the allotted seat.

Candidates who have paid initial fee (Rs 45,000 for candidates with the category tag GEN, OBC-NCL and Rs. 20,000 for candidates with the category tag SC, ST, GEN-PwD, OBC NCL PwD, SC-PwD or ST-PwD) and reported against allotment of JoSAA 2016 but did not report to the allotted Institute till 26th July, 2016, 5:00 pm for academic Session 2016-17 .


Online registration, choice filling, and locking will be open from July 28 (10 am) to July 30 (5 pm).

List of seat allotment will be published on August 1 at 1 pm.

Reporting at allotted institute from August 2 (10 am) to August 5 (5 pm).

For the official notification, click here.