Central University of Orissa-[CUO], Koraput Overview

  Koraput   UGC, Central University   ESTD 2009
  Koraput   UGC, Central University   ESTD 2009

About College

The Central University of Orissa has been established by the Parliament under the Central Universities Act. It is one of the 15 new Central Universities established by the Government of India .


  • The Central University of Orissa has a land size of 450.09 acres spreading over village Chikapar (Ac. 310.96) and the adjoining Chakarliput (Ac. 139.13)
  • The CUO and the COATS, Koraput signed a historical MoU to enhance the cooperation in the higher education sector and tribal research development
  • The CUO and the HAL, Sunabeda signed a MoU to promote and improve mutual academic and institutional ties among them
  • University has signed a MoU with University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain for mobility of students and staffs to European Countries for higher education
  • Well-designed, competitive and up-to-date curriculum with CBCS both in UG and PG levels
  • University conducts regular industrial visits and educational tours which helps the students to have exposure to other institutes of higher learning
  • University also provides coaching for various competitive exams
  • Students are also given guidance to apply for scholarships offered by the state and central governments

School & Departments:

School of Languages
  • Department of English Language and Literature (DELL)
  • Department of Odia Language and Literature (DOLL)
  • Department of Hindi (DH)
  • Department of Sanskrit (DSKT)
School of Social Sciences
  • Department of Anthropology (DA)
  • Department of Sociology (DS)
  • Department of Economics (DE)
School of Education & Education Technology
  • Department of Journalism & Mass Communication (DJMC)
  • Department of Education (DEDN)
School of Basic Sciences & Information Science
  • Department of Mathematics (DM)
  • Department of Computer Science (DCS)
School of Biodiversity & Conservation of Natural Resources
  • Department of Biodiversity and Conservation of Natural Resources (DBCNR)
School of Commerce & Management Studies
  • Department of Business Management (DBM)
School of Applied Sciences
  • Department of Statistics (DSTAT)