NIT Kurukshetra-Birthplace of the Bhagwat Gita

National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra

Founded in 1963 as Regional Engineering College Kurukshetra,
the institute was rechristened as National Institute of Technology on June 26, 2002. The Institute started functioning in
its present campus at Kurukshetra, Haryana in 1965-66 with 120 students. The
annual intake was increased to 250 students in 1966-67. The PhD. programme was launched
in July, 1967.

The Institute migrated to the 4-year
B.Tech. Degree courses with effect from the academic year 1985-86. The 2-year
M.Sc. (Engg.) degree courses in various disciplines were redesignated as M. Tech. from 1983-84. In the
session 2006-07, the Institute introduced a two-year MBA programme and two
four-year B. Tech. degree programmes in Information Technology and Industrial
Engineering Management. The Institute started a three-year MCA programme
started in the 2007-08 session. Each of these newly introduced courses has
intake of 60 students.

The campus extends over an area of 300
acres designed into a picturesque landscape.

The campus has been organised into three
functional sectors: Hostels for the students, Instructional buildings and
Residential sector for the staff.. Three storey buildings of hostels towards the
Eastern side of the campus provide comfortable accommodation for students. The
instructional buildings have been located between the two residential sectors
in order to reduce walking distance. A health centre, a Post Office and a
branch of the State Bank of India are located on the Campus. 

Studying at NITKKR

The Institute offers B.Tech. and M.Tech. degree and has research facilities to award the degree of Doctor of Philosophy.

Admission to the 4 year B.Tech degree is through JEE and the number of seats is as follows.

                Discipline                                               No. of Seats

Electronics & Communication Engineering              139

Computer Engineering                                                92

Information Technology                                              92

Mechanical Engineering                                             139

Industrial Engineering & Management                       92

Electrical Engineering                                                 139

Civil Engineering                                                         139

The M.Tech degree is awarded in 8 departments with various specializations. PhD. is awarded by 5 departments.

The MBA and MCA degrees are also awarded by NITKKR.


Life beyond the classroom

Techspardha is the annual Techno-Managerial festival of NIT, Kurukshetra. Confluence, popularly known as conflu, is the annual cultural festival lasting four days generally held towards the end of February every year. Other events are MICROBUS, TECHNOBYTE, ELECTRORECK, MECHSOC, INFRASTRUCTURE.

Placement History

 The placements at NITKKR have consistently been impressive.


Read Next