JoSAA 2017: 36,268 seats available; Admission process for IITs, NITs, IIITs, GTFIs starts from June 15

The Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2017 will start the registration process for admission to IITs (Indian Institutes of Technology), NITs (National Institutes of Technology), IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology), and GFTIs (Government Funded Technical Institutes) from June 15, for the 2017-18 academic year.   

Candidates must fill their JoSAA 2017 registration forms between June 15 to 26 on the official portal. 36,268 seats are available across 97 institutes which includes IITs, NITs, IIITs, and GFTIs for this academic year. A total of 650 programs are available, including both four-year and five-year courses. 

Click here to know the Schedule of events of JoSAA 2017 

While filling the registration form, candidates must note that the ‘State Code of Eligibility’ does not depend upon his/her native place, or current residence; rather it is the state from where he/she appeared for class XII examination. 

Another important detail while registering for JoSAA 2017 is that candidates cannot change their personal details such as name, father’s / mother’s / guardian’s name, date of birth, Class XII (or equivalent) examination board and (birth) category. But they can change their state of eligibility and nationality. Accordingly, their category tag will also change. 

Candidates must refer to the official JoSAA 2017 business rules to know more.

Click here to learn how to exercise Freeze, Float, and Slide options for JoSAA 2017

The first round of seat allocation process will commence from June 28, 2017. For payment of seat acceptance fee, candidates should either use SBI e-challan downloaded from JoSAA portal or use SBI Net Banking facility available on JoSAA portal. Candidates have to remit seat acceptance fee only once.

Thus, candidates who are allocated another seat [because they chose the float or slide option] do not have to pay the seat acceptance fee again.

Click here to know JoSAA 2017 reporting centres. 

If candidates pay the seat acceptance fee but do not report in a reporting centre, they will be treated as rejecting the offer. The seat will be cancelled and the candidate will be excluded from further rounds of seat allocation. Such candidates may seek refund of seat acceptance fee through the JoSAA portal after the completion of the joint seat allocation.

However, the fee will be refunded after deducting the processing charges of Rs. 1000.

JoSAA is setup by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) to manage and regulate admission to the before mentioned 97 institutes.