Health Minister JP Nadda declared NEET UG 2017 to take place in 8 languages

In a series of tweets, the Union Health Minister Jagat Prakash Nadda, confirmed today that the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) UG 2017 is going to take place in 8 Indian languages. In one of his tweets, he mentioned that the examination will take place in Hindi, English, Gujarati, Marathi, Bengali, Assamese, Telugu & Tamil. The NEET UG 2017 application is expected to begin from the last week of December 2016. 

In reply to Nadda’s tweet, Karthik Subbaramaiah from Bangalore asked why not including Kannada or for that matter all the scheduled languages? While medical colleges in Karnataka offers 8,325 MBBS seats, West Bengal and Assam intakes 2,700 and 726 respectively in an academic year. In another reply, Nakul Nagendra, stated that it is unfortunate that even though Karnataka has more medical colleges and seats, the language is not included for NEET UG 2017. 

NEET UG 2016, being the first year for the single common examination for medical admission, created a lot of confusion. Although the Supreme Court ordered NEET to be the single entrance examination, the government resolution allowed the states to conduct their own CETs (Common Entrance Tests) for medical admission in state institutes for the academic session. The academic session this year got delayed due to legal complications and court cases. Nadda mentioned in his tweet that the students will be benefited by the single window examination as it will maintain country-wide uniformity this year.

Nadda further tweeted that candidates who will qualify from NEET UG 2017 will be eligible for the All India Quota and the other quotas given by the state governments and institutes in the states during admission. 

Click here and join our discussion forum to keep yourself updated about what is new in the field of medical education.