Today a delegation of leading PGDM institutions met the AICTE Chairman, Dr Anil Sahasrabudhe under the auspices of the Education Promotion Society For India (EPSI). The purpose of this delegation was appraising the AICTE about apprehensions and concerns of PGDM institutions arising due to a recent verdict of the Supreme Court which says that MBA education is not part of technical education.  There are more than 450 PGDM institutions in the country imparting quality management education to more than 1.5 lakh students.


The EPSI delegation was equivocal in submitting to Dr Sahasrabudhe that there is a lot of confusion in B-schools about implications of this verdict. They said that some unscrupulous elements are using social media for spreading the canard that now management education will be out of regulatory regime. Directors, deans and chairmans of PGDM requested the AICTE to take suitable legal actions to clear this confusion and to get restored the fifty years old regulatory supervision and control of the AICTE on management education.


From the AICTE side, besides the Chairman, Dr Sahasrabudhe, Vice Chairman, Dr M P Poonia and Advisor Dr Rajive Kumar also participated in the discussion. The delegation also given some suggestions to improve the effectiveness of the recently issued Guidelines on Corporate Governance which were accepted by the Chairman, AICTE.


The delegation reiterated the EPSI’s stand in 2013-14 Supreme Court hearing that PGDM institutions in no case would like to be regulated other than the AICTE. We also stated that the future healthy growth of management education will not be possible without current state of autonomy enjoyed by PGDM institutions. We also requested Dr Sahasrbudhe to expedite the notification about graded autonomy for PGDM institutions. An early announcement will cheer up efforts of these bschools for further improvement in the quality. Dr Sahasrabuddhe said that it will be announced soon.


The delegation was led by Dr H. Chaturvedi, Alt. President, EPSI, Dr Himadri Das, Director, IMI, New Delhi, Dr Asish K. Bhattacharyya, Director, IMT, Ghaziabad, Dr Atish Chattopadhyay, Director, IFIM, Bengaluru, Shri Srivats Jaipuria, President, Jaipuria Group of Bschools, Shri V M Bansal, Chairman, NDIM, New Delhi, Prof Vinod Madhavan, Dean, TAPMI, Manipal, Dr Sanjiv Marwaha, Director, JK Business School, Sohna, Faridabad, Dr Ruppal Walia Sharma ,Head, Delhi centre of SPJIMR, Mumbai and Shri Anoop Sarin, GM, IMT, Ghaziabad.


Shri P.Palnivel, Executive Secretary, EPSI felicitated the meeting.

Stay Connected on PaGaLguY for BIMTECH Admissions 2018-20

Dr H Chaturvedi (Alternate President, EPSI & Director, BIMTECH)



Write Comment