Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology (IIEST), Shibpur

  Shibpur   AICTE   ESTD 1856
  Shibpur   AICTE   ESTD 1856

About College

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur owes its origin to the erstwhile Bengal Engineering College, the history of which goes to the nineteenth century when industries in the sense we understand today, were practically absent. Prompted by the idea of meeting requirement of trained engineering personnel for the Public Works Department, the then council of Education, Bengal, decided to open Civil Engineering classes and a Professorship in Civil Engineering was created at Hindu College, Calcutta, in the year 1843-44. A College of Engineering was started by the name of Civil Engineering College on 24th November, 1856, in the premises of the Writers Building, Calcutta.

In 1982, a new degree course in Computer Science & Technology was started and with modernization of the facilities, this department started offering the Master of Engineering courses in 1988 and Master of Computer Applications courses in 1991.

The college was selected as a participating institute under the World Bank EIDP Project and an endowment in the amount of Rs. 200,000,000 was received for upgrading the teaching facilities and laboratories in the Electronics and Computer Science Departments. An E-mail facility was offered by the DOE under this project through which the university can have install access to information super highway.

The alumni of the college have occupied or are occupying top positions in various national and international organizations. In recognition of its yeoman’s service to the nation for 143 years of its existence with its well organized infrastructure, the college was elevated to the status of a “Deemed University” in 1992 by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India on the recommendation of a UGC Expert Committee. As a result, Dr. SankarDayal Sharma, the President of India, inaugurated the University in March 1993.

In 2004, B.E. College (Deemed University) was converted into a full-fledged university by an act in the West Bengal Assembly and renamed as Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur. In addition to the tradition engineering disciplines, the university started M.Sc curriculum in basic sciences.

In March 2014, Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur was taken over by the Government of India and converted into an Institute of National Importance through an act of parliament and renamed as Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur.

Academic Programs:

  • Integrated Dual Degree
  • Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech.)
  • Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.)
  • Master of Technology (M.Tech.)
  • Master of Urban and Regional Planning (M.U.R.P.)
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.)
  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A)


  • Aerospace Engineering and Applied Mechanics
  • Architecture, Town and Regional Planning
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Technology
  • Earth Sciences
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
  • Human Resource Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Information Technology
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgy and Materials Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Physics


IIEST Admissions 2019: UG & PG Admission, Application process

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur commonly abbreviated as IIEST Shibpur, is a national research & education institute for engineering, science and technology. The Institute is Ranked 20th in India by NIRF / MHRD in the Year 2016.

The institute offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in engineering and architecture as well as masters and doctorate degrees in science and management. The institute offers B.Tech, B.Arch as well as Integrated B.Tech courses at the UG level, whereas, at the PG level, the institute offers M.Tech, MURP, M.Sc. and MBA courses.

Admission to the UG level are courses based on the merit of the candidates as per JEE Mains results & admission to the M.Tech courses are based on the results of the candidates in GATE. For admission to the PhD courses, the University conducts separate entrance test and interview rounds.

Key Points:

  • 50% of the seats are reserved for candidates outside West Bengal, and 50% are reserved for students domiciled in West Bengal
  • 22%, 6% and 3% of the seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and Physically Challenged students respectively.
  • Three seats are reserved under Defence Quota
  • A maximum of 5% of seats (supernumerary) is reserved for Tuition Waiver Scheme

IIEST Admission Undergraduate (UG) Admission 2019 (Include Integrated Course)

IIEST offers a number B. Tech, B.Arch & Integrated B.Tech+M.Tech courses at the Undergraduate level. The B.Tech course is offered for four years, whereas, the B.Arch and the integrated courses are offered for 5 years.

The B.Tech course is offered with nine different specialisations and the Integrated B.Tech+M.Tech course is offered with a variety of 29 different specialisation subjects under nine different departments,

Admission to all these courses will be made through JEE (Main)- Paper I (for Engineering) and Paper II (for Architecture), an exam conducted by the JEE Apex Board under CBSE. The shortlisted candidates are invited for the counselling round at IIEST.

IIEST Admission Postgraduate (PG) Admission 2019

IIEST Shibpur offers M.Tech, MURP, M.Sc. and MBA degree at the postgraduate level. All these courses are for two years.

The Master of Technology (M.Tech) course is offered with 26 different specialisations under 12 departments of Engineering. The Master of Science (M.Sc.) course is offered with five different specialisation subjects.

The admission to M.Tech courses is carried out through CCMT – The centralised system to admit M.Tech students for all NITs and CFTIs (Centrally Funded Technical Institutes). GATE qualification is mandatory for admission to the M.Tech programmes.

50% per cent of the available seats to the MSc courses are admitted through CCMN (Centralized Counselling for M.Sc.); the centralised counselling procedure for NITs & CFTIs with JAM as the mandatory requirement. The rest fifty per cent are admitted through IIEST’s test and interview process where JAM is not a mandatory requirement.

For MBA, a candidate must have a valid CAT/MAT/XAT/CMAT score.

For, CAT & XAT the minimum score requirement is 65 percentile, and for MAT and CMAT the minimum score requirement is 85 percentile. The shortlisted candidates based on such scores are invited for Group Discussion and Personal Interview rounds.


Course name Duration Fees Exams Accepted
Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] 2 years 5.56 Lakhs JEE MAIN, WBJEE
Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] + Master of Technology [M.Tech] 5 years 3.36 Lakhs JEE MAIN, WBJEE
Bachelor of Architecture [B.Arch] 5 years 3.36 Lakhs JEE MAIN
Master of Business Administration [MBA] 2 years 4.12 Lakhs CAT, CMAT, GMAT
Master of Technology [M.Tech] 2 years 1.60 Lakhs GATE
Master of Science [M.Sc] 2 years 0.80 Lakhs
Master of Planning (Urban and Regional Planning) 2 years
Ph.D 3 years

Infrastructure and Facilities


Computer Labs