IIMC to Introduce 3 New Degree Courses from the Academic Session 2020-2021

IIMC Academic Session 2020-2021

In an attempt to fulfil the requirements of becoming a deemed university under the De Novo category, IIMC will be launching three new Master’s degree courses from the academic session 2020-21. De Novo refers to the institutions that dedicate themselves in imparting research and innovation-based education in the upcoming areas of knowledge. The three new courses are Health Communication, New Media and Communication Governance.

The announcement was made during the 141st meeting of the EC, the highest governing body of IIMC headed by Mr. Amit Khare, the I&B secretary. During the meeting, the roadmap for IIMC to become a deemed university was assessed amongst other staff requirements. Permission to sign an MoU with the Ministry of AYUSH has also been granted to IIMC.

Under the MoU, IIMC will be able to spearhead collaborative projects with Ministry of AYUSH and also provide IEC consultancy. Other than that, IIMC will also run training programmes in healthcare in AYUSH systems and explore internship opportunities for its students and different AYUSH institutions.

According to the IIMC officials, the course will be launched soon and is expected to run at Delhi, Dhenkanal and Kottayam campuses. Other than that, EC has also suggested that IIMC should launch skill-based short-term courses for students that will help them with enhanced chances of employability.

The students who wish to apply for the three new courses, will have to sit for an entrance exam that will assess the candidates on their language skills and health-related knowledge. The process is said to be similar to the existing courses.

The curriculum, eligibility and number of seats are yet to be finalized by the college authorities and the details for the same will be released later in the year. There is no change in the existing courses and they are expected to run as always.

In other updates, Community Radio Stations are being set up at different campuses of IIMC, namely, Jammu, Aizawl, Amravati, Kottayam and Dhenkanal.