2015 Annual Convocation of KJ Somaiya (SIMSR) 2013-15 Batches

The 2015 annual convocation
of SIMSR 2013-15 batches of PGDM courses was held successfully on Oct 10, 2015
at the Volleyball Grounds opposite SIMSR Hostel.

Held in the morning, for the
first time in many years, the Convocation was graced by the following

Chief Guest – 
Mr. Vishwavir Ahuja, MD and CEO, Ratnakar Bank

Guest of Honour – Mr. Ajay Kapur, MD and CEO,
Ambuja Cement

Shri Samir Somaiya – Chairman, Somaiya Vidyavihar

Dr. Rajan Welukar – Provost, Somaiya Vidyavihar

Prof. Dr. Monica Khanna – In-charge Director

Mrs. Meera Ramanathan – Registrar, SIMSR

The event happened as per
plan beginning with a group photograph of the guest with faculty followed by a
Procession lead by the Controller of Examinations, dignitaries and SIMSR

The ceremony commenced at 9.30
am with prayers and lighting of the lamp. On the formal request of the Acting Registrar
of the Institute Mrs. Meera Ramanathan, the Provost Dr Welukar declared the
convocation Open.

The event opened with a
formal presentation of the Director’s Report by the In-charge Director Dr. Monica
Khanna on institutional achievements in the academic year 2014-15. This was followed
by a short yet eye-opening speech from Mr. Samir Somaiya Chairman, Somaiya Vidyavihar
about the value of ethics and innovation in business. Next
to take the stage was Mr. Ajay Kapur, 1991 – alumnus and Guest of Honour for the
day. Peppered with personal
anecdotes and insights, his talk was like that of a parent to his children before
they set out on their career journeys. The way he narrated it, all those in the
audience could relate to his story from SIMSR to CEO of Ambuja Cement.

Delivering the Convocation
address, Mr. Vishwavir Ahuja, MD and CEO, Ratnakar Bank followed up with excerpts
from his own career graph on the ups and downs that are part of a corporate career.
He rounded it off with further advice to the graduating students on how to deal
with these challenges.

Moving on to the actual
business of the day, the first and second rank winners in each of the six
courses were awarded gold and silver medals and certificates. Select members of
the Student Council were also given certificates of appreciation.

This was followed by respective
program coordinators calling out names of students in their respective courses
for the awarding of diplomas as per the scheduled event.

The event concluded with a
vote of thanks proposed by the Convocation Committee Chairperson Prof. Uma
Bhushan followed by a formal closing of the ceremony by the Provost on the
request of the Acting Registrar.

Notable new initiatives of
this year’s convocation include:

  1. Exam Controller leading the Faculty
    Parade, like in any major university
  2. The Registrar (Acting) and Provost
    formally inaugurating and closing the ceremony
  3. Appreciation Certificates for
    Student Council members
  4. Invitation of alumni as Guest of
  5. Completion of event well ahead of
    scheduled duration

All faculty members of the
Convocation Committee and co-opted staff members along with student volunteers
were present from 7 a.m. on the day of the event to make the event a grand