References/ Letters of Recommendations

Hi guys! Kinda new here on PG. Forums are awesome and thanks to everyone who made so much info. available all in one spot! I’m targeting around 4-5 top MBA programs in the US and may be 1 in Canada for Fall 2012 start. I have an Electrical …

Hi guys!

Kinda new here on PG. Forums are awesome and thanks to everyone who made so much info. available all in one spot!
I'm targeting around 4-5 top MBA programs in the US and may be 1 in Canada for Fall 2012 start. I have an Electrical and Mechanical Engineering background and I work in the energy sector. I'm trying to get into Consulting or Finance.
I have a question about References or Recommendations that schools ask for. All the schools that I have looked at (Stanford, Cornell, Booth, Kellogg, UCLA) seem to ask for references from current supervisor. In my case, this is not possible because my manager WILL NOT support me with my MBA plans. Moreover, he will do everything he can to get me fired if he comes to know I'm trying to get out for a full time MBA. He is one of those bosses who want to constantly feel superior to his employees. He is from a very average school and has very mediocre achievements throughout his life and basically gets threatened by anyone that is smart or has high ambitions. He is widely known in my company for his lack of people skills, bad attitude and total incompetency. The only reason he has been surviving amidst all the layoffs is because of his extraordinary ability to kiss his boss's behind, to put it midly.

I contacted these schools and explained my situation (of course, in a much more genteel manner). They're saying they understand, but are asking me to submit at least one reference from a previous supervisor.