Your Questions Answered: Applying to MBA in UK

Hi everyone,

If you're thinking of applying to an MBA in the UK and want some independent advice - post your questions or thoughts here.

A bit about me: 

I was an international student in the UK and graduated with a BA Hons (2003) and Masters w Distinction (2006).  I've worked in highered in a number of roles, all of whom related to advising international students on applying to university. 

In my last role I was Deputy Director of the International Office at at a highly-ranked London University.  

Many MBA applicants look at rankings when searching for a high quality MBA course with a good reputation.  But are MBA rankings reliable? And do they really matter? Decide for yourself by asking these 8 questions:  

1.  What Is Being Ranked? Is this an MBA ranking or b-school ranking list?   

2: What Is Being Measured?  Rankings don't use all the same criteria when ranking courses/b-schools.  What are the criteria they're using?  How useful are these to you?  

3. Methodology and Data? The methodology is often ignored by applicants but it's important you that you look at, not only what is being measured, but also how much weight is being given to each element, how the data is collected, and who is involved. 

4. Can Everyone Take Part?  B-schools and MBA courses participate in ranking lists by invitation.  And not everyone who's invited decides to take part.  So if you can't find a b-school or MBA course on a ranking list - don't simply assume they didn't make the rank. 

5.  Do Rankings Matter?  I wished I could say 'no', but in reality rankings can matter very much to some types of employers.  And of course they matter hugely to many applicants as well. So ranking can determine who else will be on the same course as you.  However, ranking alone will not tell you what type of experience you personally will have.