US MBA : Not Worth the trouble!

Hello, I am an PG-old timer and landed up on PG on random googling. I read some of the messages on PG about US MBA and i dont think people have the complete information. I did my MBA from India and am working in the US for a while. Here’s wh…

Hello,

I am an PG-old timer and landed up on PG on random googling. I read some of the messages on PG about US MBA and i dont think people have the complete information. I did my MBA from India and am working in the US for a while. Here's what I sincerely feel and I hope it helps fellow Indians in making the right choice when it comes to their career!

1. US education system is expensive even by US standards.
  2. The sub-prime crisis has fundamentally changed things.
  3. US MBA is good only for people who can afford to come back to India after their MBA i.e. spend in dollars and earn in Rs. Unlike in India, US bschools do not guarantee placements. Foreign applicants are already decreasing!
  4. US is getting increasingly protectionist and its not easy getting a job. Bank of America last year withdrew its offers made to foreign MBAs. This trend is likely to continue with TARP funds restrictions and in general slowdown in the economy.
  5. I read on PG that its easy to get loans. I think you need a US co-signer for a loan.
  6. MBA programs are not comparable to MS programs. MS has typically around 80-90% of foreign students and employers are still willing to sponsor H1B. MBA programs have typically larger batch size, larger population so there is a preference to recruit locals first.Most of the big guys are doing it. Moreover, small companies do not have the bandwidth to process visas, so they end up recruiting locals as well.
  7. Our MBA alumni group is flooded with CVs of people from US bschools, soliciting for internship or a job opportunity. This is quite an indication of the job market scene in US.