Urgent Help Needed

HI All, I am a 26 yr old Doctor and have decided for a career shift, planning to give GMAT next yr (2008 APRIL) and go for a MBA in Finance from ISB/singapore(2009). I have only clinical work ex of working as a doctor for 3 yrs. i have a…

HI All,

I am a 26 yr old Doctor and have decided for a career shift, planning to give GMAT next yr (2008 APRIL) and
go for a MBA in Finance from ISB/singapore(2009). I have only clinical work ex of working as a doctor for 3 yrs.
i have a few Qs.

1. will a short 1 yr PGdiploma course in finance by correspondence help me in getting -
A) a job in something related to finance which will help boost my CV for getting admission in MBA thru GMAT. this job i will do for 6 months-1yr bfore joining the MBA program B) will it help me in my MBA program as i will already know the finance basics. C) Will it help my CV for MBA even if i dont get a job.

2. from where should i do the correspondence course in finance. money limit upto 25000/, time limit 1 yr.

thanks a lot

Before anything, I think it would help answering some questions to yourself (and will help us help you) Why a sudden career shift from Doctor to an MBA in Finance?

Further I think at this stage it would be tough for you to land up straight into a neat finance position job.

MBAs are needed in every field including healthcare and so people from different professions are doing MBA. MBA after medicine is not a drastic change , its a change from a worker level i.e a doctor to the management level in the same industry. in USA , harvard offers a combined 5 yr course in medicine and MBA. Mccinsey in USA recruits doctors directly from the medical colleges. So like an IT professional does a MBA SO CAN A DOCTOR.

IT Would be of help if you can answer my questions. thanks a lot.

Hi Rahul (That is your name, I hope...)