St Gallen MBA thread

All I am a student at Univ of St Gallen pursuing an MBA currently. Pls post any questions you may have.

All
I am a student at Univ of St Gallen pursuing an MBA currently. Pls post any questions you may have.

Hello
Sorry for the delay in giving a reply, I was held up with tests and paper submissions.
Class size = 43
Indians in current batch = 8 (no women).

GMAT score ranges from about 670 - 720 for Indians.
In terms of experience, 4 Indians have about 3-5 years. Three Indians have 10-11 years work exp, and one has about 15 years.

It is difficult to make a generalisation of the profile as the work experience in number of years is varied. Also only 4 are from the IT industry, the others are from Engineering.

Getting job offers has always been a HUGE problem for Indians due to 2 reasons.
a. (Lack of) Swiss/EU citizenship
b. (Lack of) German language skills.
In the last batch only 4 Indians got job offers (Accenture, Deutsche post, SAP & a local Management Consulting company). The other 5 Indians had to return home.
CORRECTION: One person joined Deloitte. So jobless Indians = 4.
St Gallen is known for two Industries - Finance & Management Consulting.
Finance jobs are mostly located in Zurich. With the recent/on-going turmoil, many Financial Institutions are shedding jobs, not to speak of recruiting.
Business Consulting jobs require EXCELLENT command over (either) German (and) French.

So for someone who has good German language skills (or is confident of picking it up very well in about 8 months) and has good contacts in the German region of Europe, St Gallen would be a good choice.

I hope this helps...

Hello
You are asking me for an opinion and I won't be able to give you one here. Please send me your mail ID via a PM and I will be happy to send you a reply.
Bye!

Hi PGs,

I am happy to share that I have got a full admission for the full time MBA at St.Gallen.

Is one else apping / having an admit?