Prospects of an MA in Economics from D-School (Delhi School of Economics)

Well, I’m surprised I haven’t found such a thread yet on PG. So here goes: Wish to know whether Delhi School of Economics is good enough, if I wish to pursue higher studies (MA) in Economics in India. What are the career prospects after the …

Well, I'm surprised I haven't found such a thread yet on PG. So here goes:

Wish to know whether Delhi School of Economics is good enough, if I wish to pursue higher studies (MA) in Economics in India. What are the career prospects after the program, and also, how feasible is it for one to aspire for scholarships / letters of recommendations to pursue PhD programs abroad after the MA program?

Would appreciate it if you could share first hand information. I've done a lot of Googling and the like myself.

I'm an engineer from NIT Warangal with a B.Tech in Electrical Engineering. 2 years of work experience as an analyst in an investment banking (back office / middle office).

[Note that I've used the CAT and related B Schools forum since I expect most of you having an inkling on the matter to follow this parent forum]

I am a DU economics (hons) pass out. Even though not in dse, lot of my friends and seniors r in dse.

First of all, be every clear that you like economics, otherwise life can get hell once u r in dse.

Secondly, the toppers of d-school usually go for phd programs abroad, rather than taking placements.
however dont be under the impression that u will get phd admissions that too with scholarship in top universities of US. If your academic record is very good in dse, u have research aptitude, then u may get admission in top 30 phd programs of the world. D-school is typically considered to be a placement oriented campus.
If u r sure u want to pursue Phd, then ISI is a better place. However admissions there are much tougher.