Photography Project

guys (that’s a gender neutral address!) i had an idea which i wanted to bounce off you ppl. i’m an amateur photographer - and i use the term amateur vary lightly here! but i have the following proposition - -picking up a batch of studen…

guys (that's a gender neutral address!)

i had an idea which i wanted to bounce off you ppl. i'm an amateur photographer - and i use the term amateur vary lightly here! but i have the following proposition -

-picking up a batch of students in a particular locality - typically from lower income households/ slums etc

-teaching them the very basic nuances of photography - i think this should take about a day or two. and when i say basic - i mean very basic - like what is a camera....where to click for snaps...how to frame a picture...

-we give them cameras (this is one huge obstacle in terms of resource generation) and accompany them around the colony/ locality/ take a bus ride to interesting places like chadni chowk, red fort etc and let them go wild shooting pictures

-after a few sessions spread over, say a couple of weeks, we identify the really bright sparks and start to work with them (while at some level carrying on work with the other kids as well) and maybe at the end of the project (the time span could be anything from one month to a year), we could have their photographs published/ documented etc. i'm pretty sure that places like IHC would be willing to give space for an exhibition and NGOs like Youthreach would partner with us in some way...

This is all off-the-cuff so if you people have any inputs...suggestions...critical comments...positives...quirks...one liners...do respond. i've been toying with this idea for some time but haven't got down to actually focussing any sort of energy on it - cpet the past 10 mins typing this thread out!

cheerio!

DO MAIL/ REPLY! :-onfire:

hi......

Great Idea...

Hope it works out....:thumbsup:

Regards
Nihit