Negotiating Scholarship money

Has anybody here negotiated scholarship money between two schools? I will go to the better school , but want to see if I can get more $$$ Any ideas?

Has anybody here negotiated scholarship money between two schools?
I will go to the better school , but want to see if I can get more $$$

Any ideas?

Well - i have no experience with this. I have only one admit :)

But then the best thing u can do is to say "Listen school A. I have so much free money from school B. As an international applicant/admit, this is a huge amount of money for me and the free money reduces my debt significantly. I am not comparing school A with school B, and even if i do that, i dont find any clear winners between these two schools. This option from school B is particularly attractive for me. I am curious if you guys in school A can offer me ANY free money."

You shud, at no point of time, give the impression that u r saying "hey school A, i will come to you ONLY if i get so much free money from u. If not, i will be going to school B".

This is a tricky game - so play it safe 😃

Has anybody here negotiated scholarship money between two schools?
I will go to the better school , but want to see if I can get more $$$

Any ideas?

Whatever you do, just do it politely and carefully. Be very diplomatic. Also, from what i know, lower rung schools can cave in but schools such as Duke, NYU, and Cornell wont even give a damn. Direct co-relation between demand and supply. I dont have idea on the other top schools. But no harm in trying.

Good Luck! and i would refrain from naming the other school. The adcoms are pretty connected and i would just not tell the school that you are negotiating with about the name of the other school. But, like i said earlier, your pitch should be more about why *money* is your factor in deciding. Explain it politely and it would work-out just fine.