Messed my GMAT.Just got a 550 after 4 months of dedicated efforts

Hi, I took the GMAT on 17th September,07, but I messed it. Got a 42 in Quant and just 23 in Verbal.My total score was just 550 ! I am really dissapointed and dejected. I have been putting dedicated efforts since the past 4 months. My sco…

Hi,
I took the GMAT on 17th September,07, but I messed it.
Got a 42 in Quant and just 23 in Verbal.My total score was just 550 !
I am really dissapointed and dejected.
I have been putting dedicated efforts since the past 4 months.
My scores in the Prep tests were in the range of 640-700.
My analysis after the final GMAT was:-
-My time management was poor.I ran short of time in the Verbal section, as a result of which, I had to guess in a lot of places in the Verbal section.Even in THe Qaunt section, my time management was not that good, but was definately better tahn Verbal.
-My performane in the Quant Section was also below average. i have been scoring in the range of 48-49 in the preparatory tests.
-I did a few of silly mistakes in Quant and lacked patience.:(
-I was also not very confident while answering the Verbal questions.
From my score, it is quite evident that I need to concentrate more on improving my Verbal skills.
Please suggest me ways to improve my score. I desperately need help an d would really appreciate positive criticism and suggestions.
Also, by how many points in the score anticiapted to improve in roughly 5-6 weeks.
Planning to retake the GMAT by October end or November first week.
Thanks & Regards,
Swati

"Shi* happens"

Same thing happened with me, after 4 months of preparations and a score of 720 plus in my mocks and a max of 770 i too screwed it up !! Chalta hai , dont worry improve and work on your mistakes !!! :neutral:

Please suggest me ways in which I can improve on my time management part.Other suggestions are also welcome.I would like to know a good strategy that may be helpful for me.
Thanks,
Swati

Swati,