Know your PGite: QuintEssence from FMS Class of 2007

In our constant philosophical search to find the true meaning of MBA, we distract Quintessence alias Ankush Trakru from the FMS Delhi class of 2007 from his engaging (a fact unverified as of now) job at Tata Administrative Services and ask him a…

In our constant philosophical search to find the true meaning of MBA, we distract Quintessence alias Ankush Trakru from the FMS Delhi class of 2007 from his engaging (a fact unverified as of now) job at Tata Administrative Services and ask him about the best and not-so-great things about life at B-school, and poke him for politically incorrect insights into life after an MBA.

Warning: Reading this interview may induce vocabulary-anxiety in you.
Hi Ankush, what are you upto these days?

I am now a manager at TAS, which basically means that I am a multi-functional, multi-industry resource for the Tata Group. In simple language, I am a Marketing Planner/Product-Category-Segment-brand manager/Media Buyer/Sales person. The work has been bewilderingly different. In one year, I have been part of an Incubator/Venture Capitalist setup, sold advertising space on TV, done Community initiatives (in Lonavala) and been part of a team implementing a strategic management tool. Sorry if it sounds so dull, Id like nothing better than to say that I am usually practicing my putt on the ninth tee at Augusta between peach schnapps, but that'd be stretching it.

How has life changed since you graduated from FMS Delhi?

1. I have a job. A full-time paying one at that.
2. I have a frequent flier membership.
3. I've been to Taj Coffee shops more than I've been to Barista (that's because it was free)
4. Other miscellaneous stuff.

Have I flashed the lifestyle bit enough?