IndiVocab: Free Vocab Software developed in Excel VBA--Free to use and modify

Hi Everyone, Background: I am studying for GMAT. Was searching for a user friendly software for Vocab Building, which user can modify according to the need. The closest I got was Crammer, must say a good one but did not get the facility t…

Hi Everyone,

Background:
I am studying for GMAT. Was searching for a user friendly software for Vocab Building, which user can modify according to the need. The closest I got was Crammer, must say a good one but did not get the facility to have word with sentence. So started developing one and here is the result of that IndiVocab.
( This is 'e'specially useful for the people who always work on the computer, may be in office.)

Its a VB based thing with the data in Excel. The code is open , if someone wants he/she can modify it or just by changing the database in Excel file one can change the wordlist.

Features:

1. You can have GMAT wordlist, or high frequency word list.
2. You can choose Number of words per hour and the delay time. e.g 7 word/hr with 30 sec delay will result in scrolling of these 7 words with a delay of 30 sec in a loop and as the hour in your computer changes the next 7 word will scroll in loop.
3. Same way for idioms.
4. 1 hour test, so you can test the words you learned in last hour.
5. Same way 1 day test.
6. Transparency, this i guess is the best feature, when you are working on ur office PC.

I struggled for such software, so thought of developing and sharing it with PG.

This is in initial phase of development, so there could be few 'Bugs' and vast scope for improvement. Pls spend 5 min on it and let me know your opinion.

Thanks
Haresh

Hi Haresh,

Very innovative and helpful.
It is so going to help for CAt prep. Thanks for all.
One query: I am not a coding person, can u share a lil insight how to add my own wordlist in this. I have mine in excel file. It has meaning, synonym and an example sentence.

Thanks & Regards,