IIMC GD/PI (2006) : Queries

Hi all , Congratulations on getting IIM Calcutta GD/PI calls. Please post any queries you guys have about the next stage , will try and answer all of them .

Hi all ,
Congratulations on getting IIM Calcutta GD/PI calls. Please post any queries you guys have about the next stage , will try and answer all of them .

Oh well perhaps this is the right place to ask....a consolidated list of call getters have been put up on the notice board right...? is it possible for you guys to tell us how many ppl have been called...?if possible witht he split up of sex and age ratios as applicable? i know it's a bit too much to ask..but if you could....

hi girish, there is no such notice any where in the campus. the info is kept confidential by the adcom. but a general guess is that around 1200 calls would be sent out every year for PGDM and PGDCM togethar.

hey guys

got ALCKI

i am an engineer working with a bank, gonna major in fin

so what sor of profile will iim c look for and how good is it for fin?

hey guys

got ALCKI

Hi ace54,
Congrats on getting 5 calls.
IIMC is considered to be the best b-school for a fin mba. Our finance faculty is world class.
http://www.iimcal.ac.in/faculty/facdept.asp
IIMC does not look for a specific profile as such . Due weightage is assigned to the various parameters such as cat performance , GD/PI , acads and workex ( if any) for the final calls.
hey guys

got ALCKI

Hi ace 54!!!
Every B-school looks for a good balance and variety in the profiles it chooses, so there cannot be any one particular profile that IIMC will look for. Coming to your specific case, I think your profile would probably be unique because you are an engineer with a work ex in the fin sector.There are not many people who have such a profile.
It is definitely an advantage if you are able to showcase it as a strength and carry it off well with good answers in the interviews.

Coming to how good C is for fin, let me answer this from 2 perspectives: