I -banking career discussion!

Hello all I wanted to know how easy is it to go from the Trading/structuring/financial products side of the Investment Banking to the Corporate Finance/Mergers and Acquisitions/COmpany valuation side of the industry. I am presently getti…

Hello all

I wanted to know how easy is it to go from the Trading/structuring/financial products side of the Investment Banking to the Corporate Finance/Mergers and Acquisitions/COmpany valuation side of the industry.

I am presently getting a job at UBS group in one of their groups that would work along/support a group that would structure financial products in Fixed INcome securities for its clients. Now this job would let me learn about how clients are to be serviced, products to be structured, term sheets prepared, so and so forth..

However I have been investing in long term perspective for around two years now, and I like the idea of actually studying a company's annual reports, go through its balance sheets, P&L; and cash flow statements and try and figure out what it might to in future. I know that this is a very basic approach, and I wouldn't know better unless I actually work in that industry say as a strategic consultant. The M&A;, company valuation and corporate finance side of I-Banks deal with this sort of stuff.

I wanted to know how much of a chance do I have once I join the financial product/trading side of I- bank to learn all that I can and then shift into to Corporate Finance side? .. Do I need to work in an industry before I do so? .. Would me joining a structuring kind of job hinder my coming back to operations or going over to corporate finance?

Thanks a lot for all the help

Warm regards

Hello all

I wanted to know how easy is it to go from the Trading/structuring/financial products side of the Investment Banking to the Corporate Finance/Mergers and Acquisitions/COmpany valuation side of the industry.