How does a Software engineer get into business development without an MBA

hi guys i am …as you have guessed i am a plain old software engineer who come by the dozen in this country where we celebrate nerdiness…of course engineers have been stereotyped as such but not without reason…people percieve that engineers a…

hi guys i am ..as you have guessed i am a plain old software engineer who come by the dozen in this country where we celebrate nerdiness....of course engineers have been stereotyped as such but not without reason...people percieve that engineers are boring, verbally challenged, one who sees things in black and white, unable to make a conversation and certainly not able to get business for a company....this brings me to the title of my Qs how do i as a software engineer convince people at my company that i have the qualities/ atleast the potential to make it big in the business development areas of their business....certainly an MBA would help it would put to rest their worst fears that i will freeze in a presentation and maybe i have some understanding of how a business is run....and certainly i will learn the jargon and antics to get thru the interview......but then i feel what do i do if i dont have an MBA and still want to get into business development....your ideas and suggestions are welcome for an open discussion

ok, i will keep it brief and to the point
"Take initiatives"

Thats right. Understand the entire project lifecycle and then start chipping in. I am not sure if you are in services or products, but in either case there are opportunities. Grab them !

@hanu

Have you tried thinking?

K

I agree with The Rock.