GMAT 730, But low quant percentile

Hi all, I took my GMAT day before, and managed a 730 (96 %ile), with 48 in quant (85 %ile) and 45 in verbal (95%ile). I have around 2 years of experience with a research-consulting firm (2 promotions), and am involved with strategizing t…

Hi all,

I took my GMAT day before, and managed a 730 (96 %ile), with 48 in quant (85 %ile) and 45 in verbal (95%ile).

I have around 2 years of experience with a research-consulting firm (2 promotions), and am involved with strategizing the launch of our services in India. I have a 1st div in Eco Hons from a an average college in DU, and few extra-curriculars.

Given these factors, do you guys think i stand a chance in ISB and good global B-schools? What schools would you reccommend I apply to, so that I have a good chance.

I would rather leave for school in 2009, than work (although I love the work!).

Thank you in advance for your advice, guys!

Dear Akshay

Congrats

Could u tell me whats the min score you've heard of gmat??

Am weak in quant and above avg in verbal- is there any chance of hitting even 550+..??

regards

Hi Akshay,
congrats on ur score........ 45 in verbal is awesome dude... can u suggest some prep strategy..... i m taking GMAT in 2 months......thanks in advance

Hi akshay!

I have a GMAT score of 700 with a 71%ile in quant and a 95%ile in english. i have a pretty low-to-avg gpa in eco from a good DU college. i have admits from columbia, an interview from chicago, cornell, isb (with a 2L scholarship), emory (50% schol) and vanderbilt (100%schol).

so u see, its do-able 😃 i think what mattered was that i made my recommenders talk abt my analytical and quant ablities a lot.. and also i stressed majorly the quant-excel-math side of my job. in fact, i took my gmat in april07 and moved into a VERY quant-heavy job profile in jul07 (i suck at this profile i think - but it was a skill i needed, for my post mba plans and also to show them that im not ALL that bad at math)