financial engineering fro a commerce graduate?

hello pgites as in i am mad abt finance & thats the reason why i am hear, i have searched through various forums and have some how getting the impression that the world is for engineers only and commerce graduates dont have any change against…

hello pgites
as in i am mad abt finance & thats the reason why i am hear,
i have searched through various forums and have some how getting the impression that the world is for engineers only and commerce graduates dont have any change against them.
does that mean that commerce graduate has nothing to do in future?
as i am a commerce graduate with good academics, i m seriously intrested in doing financial engineering.
hey buddies does a commerce graduate stand any change of becoming a financial engineer...........
i am a b com graduation and have 2.5 yrs of work experience in a investmnet firm. my work ex will become 3 yrs by fall 2006?i am very good with computers but i never knew that doing c++ and visual basic is required by finance.
i have never heard of softwares like matlab,mathematica,sasa,gauss,rats etc.and thats why i am seriously getting worried abt my future.
my future goal is that i want to work with a big investment bank in wall street.
plz help me and guide me in order to achieve my dreams.it would be grt if u would understand my problem and give me feedback and help me to make a systematic plan following which i would make my dream of getting into a top ranked programme ?
i have certain queries if u could help me:
1)would a commerce graduate be accepted in any of top 10 program of financial engineering in us?
2)if not what other degrees should i try to obtain so that i could get get in a top 10 programme?
3)i have started learning vb.net and c++ programming,which degree or examination should i clear so that the universities should get convinced that i have the required programming skills?