Engineering Management

Hi guys, I am a software engineer working with a firm for the past 10 months. I came across the MEM program offered by Duke and Dartmouth. Can somebody advise me on the advantages of this program. As an MBA in a reputed university would require…

Hi guys,
I am a software engineer working with a firm for the past 10 months. I came across the MEM program offered by Duke and Dartmouth. Can somebody advise me on the advantages of this program. As an MBA in a reputed university would require 3 years min exp and a lot of bucks...i thought this would be a better choice to switch careers. What about the job opportunities and how do i finance my studies...i am skeptical about taking loans...pls advice...

cheers
jinu

I have a duke admit too..Dint apply to dartmouth..

As far as reputation of both programs go, they are top class..Duke is one of the oldest em programs..Lot of flexibility at both places too from what i heard..Courses can be taken from the b schools too..

I think darty is a little more expensive than duke plus weather is cold ?..

As far as placements are concerned for indians, i know through the em community on orkut, that situation looks bleak with many cos unable to sponsor the h1b..to top it all, many indians with software exp profiles make competition for the few software jobs tough...

Thats as much as i know..

So since placements are bad...Dont u think its better to get into a B-school...instead of something specialized like EM.....What about finances...does one have to show the entire tition and livin expenses in the savings account for a visa?

hi i also thought of similar plans but not in us but in singpore( from nus) can any one comment on m.s in mot( master of tech management) m,s in iendustrial engg ( with specilisation in logistics or project management ) from nus