Energy Risk Professional from GARP

Does anybody have an idea about this certification? I’m planning on doing it. The FRM certification from GARP is quite well known but I think the ERP certification is quite new. Since my MBA is in Oil and Gas industry so my background is more suit…

Does anybody have an idea about this certification? I'm planning on doing it. The FRM certification from GARP is quite well known but I think the ERP certification is quite new. Since my MBA is in Oil and Gas industry so my background is more suited for the ERP certification. Can somebody please guide me?

Hi Aby,
I also came across this exam and will be going for it in April 2010. I did by MBA from Xavier Institute of Management and am working in the area of Power Distribution with an Energy Consulting Company. You can get the general information from the GARP site itself. The course pack will be released on 22nd of June and I think since this exam is new we have to buy the materials from GARP itself, we may not have the privilege of arranging photocopied materials, unlike FRM exam. For the time being you can go through a book released by GARP named Foundations of Energy Risk Management (Wiley Publication)

Dear Jas,

This exam focuses primarily on energy risk both physical and financial. I think this will open up one's oppertunities in energy consulting e.g risk management in energy companies etc. In website it is mentioned that by completing this certification one will be able to know in and out of energy utilities. To use the designation of Energy RIsk Professional one also need to complete 2 years of relevant experience in energy utilities. So definitely I feel this course will add a lot of value to people like us.

Regards,
Saman

Hey All,

I have registered for ERP for Oct 2009, but i guess apart from the course material there is pretty much no information on the exam questions...how many/breakdown, etc.

If you guys have any pointers, please do let me know.

Cheers