can I get into Good colleges via CAT after dropping a year and without any work exp

Currently I am a final year engineering student with average academic percentages (77%, 68% and 75%)…I am going to drop a year and then appear for CAT…so can I get into Good colleges via Cat after notching up a good percentile…but witho…

Currently I am a final year engineering student with average academic percentages (77%, 68% and 75%).....I am going to drop a year and then appear for CAT....so can I get into Good colleges via Cat after notching up a good percentile.....but without any work experience,,,,,???? what are my chances???

Boss, in my opinion do not do it. As colleges are increasingly focussing on profiles.

Rest it is a very personal call. In case you are doing it, then aim at nothing less than 99.5%ile !

Best of luck.

Actually I have no job so there is no other option for me....but seeing as you said colleges are focusing on profiles more...let's see what's in store for me...:(.....

Hi avik,
Well in my personal opinion,Dont give CAT so much importance that you ought to drop for a year.CAT2012 can be easily conqured with 1 hr study daily till august and 2 hrs from then.I am saying this from my personal experience.I had resigned from my job in july,but 10 days at home and I realized taking a drop is unproductive and so I made the best use of my resignation by doing different things.And I am quite satisfied with my cat performance.Now you can build over your acads by having a very productive work-ex or build your profile if dont want to join work.But dont dedicate this 1 year exclusively for CAT.It backfires.Thats what I will advice you.I will request you to kindly post your query on this thread where you will be ably guided .
http://www.pagalguy.com/discussions/is-dropping-for-cat-justified-25017842