[Ask PG HQ] : Pursuing a career in Graphic Design

Hi all, Starting my career as a Graphic Designer, though I’m a graduate in Garment manufacturing technology from NIFT was a tough task because of the long queue of Communication Design students who were standing ahead of me. While I could h…

Hi all,

Starting my career as a Graphic Designer, though I'm a graduate in Garment manufacturing technology from NIFT was a tough task because of the long queue of Communication Design students who were standing ahead of me.
While I could have followed the conventional way and taken up a job in one of the many big brands in the Garment industry, what made me (and helped me) take this plunge?

one
> Volunteering & free-lance projects : Free-lancing for 3 yrs while in college, I took up quite a few projects in Graphic Design both for my college and outsiders was one factor which contributed a great deal to my exposure and learning.

two > Learning from the learned : My seniors and a few supportive faculties from college contributed a great deal to what I am today. Following their guidance on the various books, methods and a lot many other things helped a lot.

three > workplace : Your learning curve will automatically become steeper once you are with people smarter than you. The bar is raised and you discover more ways of approaching a problem.

Let's discuss here what it takes to become a Graphic designer, specially in a country which still considers design as an alternate career.
You can post here any queries here related to starting a career in web design and I'll try my best to be of help to you :)

And yes, seniors and alumni who can come and share their experiences and knowledge here are more than welcome!

Me at PaGaLGuY.com - Graphic Designer

hello,
i need some advice in Bsc in Visual comm from WLC,
Is it worth doing from WLC?
Is it worth paying 4 Lakhs of rupees to them ??
please advice me please

Hey,