An alternative approach to "Application Rating" of IIM-A

Being a software engineer, I studied two things in soft computing - binary logic and fuzzy logic. Binary logic works on two things only, either yes or no, true or false, zero or one. On the contrary, fuzzy logic gives an alternative to this approa…

Being a software engineer, I studied two things in soft computing – binary logic and fuzzy logic. Binary logic works on two things only, either yes or no, true or false, zero or one. On the contrary, fuzzy logic gives an alternative to this approach, as every real life scenario cannot be catered in binary logic. There may be a condition when you can't be absolutely true or absolutely false. There is a need to give values in range. To make my point clear, I will illustrate the same with some examples.

Sand Heap Paradox

Consider a heap of sand. How you will define a heap of sand?

You would say if there is a collection of some 10,000 plus grains of sand, then it's a heap of sand. But what about that collection of sand particles which has 9,999 grains of sand? Isn't it a heap of sand? One has to draw a line to decide when a collection of particles will stop becoming a heap of sand.

Lets say there are three friends A, B and C and their heights are respectively 181 cm, 180 cm and 179 cm respectively. By general observation, I would say that all three of them are tall. But, if by definition, it is decided that any person with height greater than or equal to 180 cm will be considered tall, then what about C? Isn't he tall. Just because he is shorter by 1 cm, isn't it unjustified to call him short heighted?

All these problems arise because we work on binary logic. Real life scenarios are complex and dynamic. You can't be sure all the time and you cannot assign crisp values to anything and everything. That's why fuzzy logic is needed.

Now, enough of explanations (sorry for being too verbose). Let me come to the point.