[2014-2016] NMIMS GD CD PI Preparation Thread

Congratulations to all the short-listed candidates. Please use the thread to discuss various questions and topics to prepare for GD/PI.

Congratulations to all the short-listed candidates. Please use the thread to discuss various questions and topics to prepare for GD/PI.

hi guys.

Hi kenneth!!! Please share some tips abt cd/pi

This is my first attempt at NMAT. We all are aware that NMIMS conducts Case Discussion, so lets start with one and guys, please keep pouring your inputs.

CASE DISCUSSION:

Allison P. is a charge nurse on a busy medical surgical unit. She is expecting the clinical instructor from the local university at 2 p.m. to review and discuss potential patient assignments for the nursing students the following day. Just as the university professor arrives, one of the patients on the unit develops a crisis requiring Allison's attention. In order to expedite the student nurse assignments for the following day, Allison gives her electronic medical record access password to the instructor.

Examine the ethical dilemma

Allison made a commitment to meet with the university instructor to develop student assignments at 2 p.m. The patient emergency that developed prevented Allison from living up to that commitment. Allison had an obligation to provide patient care during the emergency and a competing obligation to the professor. She solved the dilemma of competing obligations by providing her electronic medical record access password to the university professor. By sharing her password, Allison most likely violated hospital policy related to the security of healthcare information. She may also have violated the American Nurses' Association Code of Ethics in that nurses must judiciously protect information of a confidential nature. Since the university professor was also a nurse and had a legitimate interest in the protected healthcare information there may not be a Nurses' Code of Ethics violation.