Taking the GRE and the GMAT in the same year and applying for a masters and a business school at the same time?

1 Post  ·  2 Users
About this group
I am an application programmer with around 3 years of software development experience. I completed my M. Sc in Computer Applications in 2010 with a GPA of 3.2/4 and my BCA in 2008 with 77 %. I have always wanted to study abroad and feel that...
Page 1 of 1
I am an application programmer with around 3 years of software development experience. I completed my M. Sc in Computer Applications in 2010 with a GPA of 3.2/4 and my BCA in 2008 with 77 %.

I have always wanted to study abroad and feel that now is the best time to pursue this interest. I am not sure whether I want to take up a technical course or a management course. I am not sure whether I should start preparing for the GRE or the GMAT or both.

Considering the fact that I have already done a masters in Computer Science, I don't want to pursue an MS degree that is going to teach me the same things I already know all over again. I am interested in pursuing an MS that lets me focus on a more specialized area of Computer Science. For instance, the MET course at Carnegie Mellon University or the MS in Computer Science at DigiPen focus on a more specialized area of Computer Science i.e, Game Development/Entertainment Technology. Such courses make sense to an experienced software engineer as they don't focus on traditional skills that a software engineer with my kind of experience already learns on the job. The two courses I mentioned are just examples and I am open to any similar courses that focus on a more specialized domain. On the other hand, doing an MS in Computer Science from the top 10 in the world still excites me as I am sure what I'll learn there will have a significant impact on my skills.