Switching Career - Moving into IT for the good

5 Posts  ·  6 Users
About this group
I joined a shipping company called Maersk , since it was the first job that came my way . I get a good pay of 3lakhs p.a as a fresher plus numerous benefits like bi-yearly visit at Denmark for 2-weeks training etc...and other allowances which come...
Page 1 of 1

well vishy i agree with bizskool .......... it will be very good if u join IT firm as functional consultant rather than going for technical job !!!!!!!! wait ....get some more exp there and then u can get job in any IT company very easily.........

Commenting on this post has been disabled by the moderator.

hi vishi ur job sounds quite interesting I graduated this year from IT with 64% & not able to find a decent job yet working as a cse in HSBC bpo plz tell me how to get into maersk, do IT engineers fit into their domain & how to prep for interviews .
Dude I know this is not the right ans to ur ques nevertheless I would like to advice stick to ur job because there r plenty of ppl working for s/w & even in s/w u will get borede after some time .

Plz give me the details which prog is most suitable for me in maersk asap .

Hey...is.there.future.in.maersk??..I.mean.what.are.the.prospects.of.career.advancement.within.Maersk??

It will add value if you come to tech/SW after few years of shipping domain exp. else u will be one of the crowd Java programmer. On bench if economy goes down.

Spend few yrs in shipping, do a course/certification in SAP MM or similar. thereafter shift to IT-consulting as domain expert. i am sure Maersk uses some kind of ERP and tools, try learning that/them; how info flows, what info is reqd, data fields etc. Maersk may sponsor you for ERP trng down the line.