suggest me a career option

4 Posts  ·  2 Users
About this group
All, I am an engineer and working in a reputed indian software company for three years now.When I joined the company, my immediate needs were good sal and stabilty.I got both of them with a good work environment and onsite opportunities. But t...
Page 1 of 1

Going back to full time education and then shifting helps. as of now shifting will be difficult horizontally.
1. if u are interested in a fin career go for MBA(fin)+ CFA (US). ICFAI India CFA has problems with the US body. however their MS-Fin is as relevant and standard. u need to do MBA from A-level schools only for a gud career shift.
do look at ISB-Hyd and NUS-singapore, subject to financial issues. u get loans up to 14 lacs and ROI is faster. 3 yrs exp suffices for both. uneed GMAT for them.
2. MBA-fin and a further fin career have lesser client mgmt role if u go for equity research, Invst banking etc.KPO's post MBA-fin will be pure research work with min client/team interaction.

3. if u look at MBA-systems u need to sit in client calls post MBA in role of presales/BD, developing RFP/RFQ etc. you can look at business analyst role also as interface between client and development. later leading to IT-consulting roles.

all these careers have gud sal, provided MBA done from gud school. KPO's like JPMC, BankAM, Goldman, Fidelity, Blackstone, Lehman and some similar invst banks/FI's hire MBA/CFA combos for invstmt bnkng/equity research.
ICFAI MS-Fin (CFA) takes abt 3yrs to complete even if u are better tahn avg student ready to put more hours during MBA. plus abt 80k fees extra, exam fee not included.
US CFA to appear all levels u need invst exp of 3-5 yrs plus passing exams etc to get CFA charter. chk the CFA thread and AIMR website for details. there is a min experience criteria before u are awarded the charter. exams 2 times a year. books not readily avlbl. u may have to import. total cos including books may be around 2 lacs.