My GMAT experience: 720

11 Posts  ·  11 Users
About this group
Hi everyone, My name is Amit. This is my first post ever on this forum. A little about myself... I have a Bachelors in Electrical Engineering from India and a Masters in Computer Systems from a US university. Have been working as a software...
Page 1 of 2

Just thought I'd post my AWA scores - 5.5/87 percentile.
Useful tips: Give a lot of examples in the Ana of Issue essay...real life examples that everyone can relate to. If you are quoting any individuals/leaders, make sure they are extremely popular, so that whoever checks your essay can relate to it.
Make 3 or 4 paragraphs. Check spellings and grammar. Thats all I can think of!

Commenting on this post has been disabled by the moderator.
Hi Amit,
Still after lot of efforts, I am getting most of my sentence correction questions wrong and also not able to attempt 41 verbal questions in 75 mins. Could you please share some light or suggest something for these issues. Also for what are the suggested practise papers for GMAT preparation

Hi Pankaj,
I would say that the key to sentence correction is to practice as many questions as you possibly can. I practiced from Arco's, Kaplan, Princeton Review, REA, Barron's (a little) and the Official Guide (OG). Get the 1000 SCs (they are somewhere on this website, dont know exactly where...may be you could do a search OR some other kind soul could point you to it)...Keep practicing. Then go back to your responses. See where you went wrong...Be aware of the general GMAT traps. All the books that I mentioned categorize these traps and give a decent explanation. You don't have to get technical with English grammar (at least I didn't do so)...And remember, dont always go by what "sounds" right to your ears...Know stuff like..."whether" almost always beats "if" on the GMAT. "Hopefully" is almost always wrong. Active voice is always preferred over passive voice...etc...