London Business School alum answering questions

6 Posts  ·  4 Users
About this group
Hi all, I didn't seem to come across a thread on life at LBS. Seeing that I am a recent LBS graduate and very passionate about LBS and it's MBA programme, I thought of starting the thread on LBS. I am here to answer any questions you may...
Page 1 of 1

Hi,
first of all thanks for your proactive thread. I am planning about applying in London Business School but not sure aboutmy probable chance of getting there.

My GMAT score: 710
Work exp: 6.5 years (in IT)
Experience outside India, in client-facing position: 3 years in US

My GMAT score might be low for LBS; also I am worried about extra-curriculur activities; I have participated and organized a few events in school and college life but nothing major. I never worked with an NGO ; neither doI have any such certificate to showcase. Does this lower my chance of getting there?

ANy kind of suggestion will be helpful.

undefined
Write a comment
Write a comment...

Thanks! That helps a lot.

undefined
Write a comment
Write a comment...

Hi TechFinance,
The one thing that I would recommend is to start thinking about what internship/post MBA career you'd want since you don't get any time to think about it and the career office starts asking you to structure your CV from day one. Obviously you need to know what industry/role you want to apply to in order to structure your CV. I found that the initial months are so busy with the intense classes, getting to know people, attending on campus events, that one hardly gets any time to focus on what they want to do for their internship.

My second suggestion would be to start linking in with people in the field you want to get in rightaway. Don't wait until you have started your b-school or for the career office to set up events. Believe me, most of the successful students were the ones who knew exactly what they wanted to do and act on it BEFORE the programme started...