Lancaster MBA 2012-2013: Applications and beyond

38 Posts  ·  22 Users
About this group
Dear Friends, I was kind of hoping to connect with others who are planning to join Lancaster University Management School for the 2012 intake. I recently got an offer of place from them and apart from the FT rankings of this school, I do not ...
Page 1 of 4
@twins23
(Pls excuse me if I am posting something in the wrong forum, as I am new to this platform)
I have done B.Com from a reputed College in Pune, however my score in B.Com final is only around 57%. I am quite confident I will score well in GMAT and IELTS. I have work experience of about 3 years 3 months but not in continuity. I am aiming to get into a decent University (Manchester, Lancaster, Reading, Leeds, Warwick, etc.) in UK (for an MBA or MSc) which has a good ROI (Job Prospects).. I wanted to know if there is any point writing the GMAT with below average marks in B.Com { (57%) 😞 😞 . Since the GMAT form grading regards less than 60% at degree level as 'fail'.} If not, is there any scope for doing a decent MSc or MBA from UK without writing the GMAT? I have not registered for GMAT yet, but will be writing IELTS in Dec 2012. Kindly guide!! Regards Inita
undefined
Write a comment
Write a comment...

@[483319:twins23]

Thank you so much for such a nice sum up. I highly appreciate your very balanced views.

I was interested in LUMS bcoz of their quality and probably due to Henry Mintzberg connection.

But I was worried about location. You rightly pointed out, in UK, you must be very near to London to be part of the action. I stayed in Luton and still found it difficult to visit London frequently for interviews and other stuff.
Wife's job is a major issue in small towns
Half of the students are Indian simply put a red flag for me. If that is the case then why not IIMs?