Is Piracy really too bad????

22 Posts  ·  17 Users
About this group
Everytime I enter my favourite bookstore,I wonder If this time too I'm going to come out empty handed.List price behind the almost every book I set my eyes on & meagre amount of money in my pockets are enough to make me forget how bad Piracy is & ...
Page 1 of 3
zzz
@zzz  ·  0 karma
Hmmgood question.
I believe obscurity is a far greater threat to authors than piracy. Therefore, in my view, publishers bear the larger damage..

Hmmm.......... Lets say i am a newbie to reading, and dont want to be left alone , when my frendzzz discuss on works on some hi-fi author having a celebrity wife (Pun intended ! ) what do I do ??? Will I, on one sunny day, storm into a reputed bookstore, and spend my hard earned money on a few hardbound volumes, for which I dont have any guarantee if I ll be able to understand the sheer vocab !! Here comes to rescue, my bookwallah bhaiya, sitting near juice shop. I can have a couple, and can find my taste w/o calculating my finances ! And since I am a newbie, the first intro to world famous and revolutionary authors is thru pirated copy.. for the only reason that I can take enough risk to try it, which otherwise I would nt have even thought of . If I like the literature, I can choose to spend more on it, or otherwise. But the point here is, if the bookwallah bhaiya would have chosen to sell vegetables instead of books, I would probably never have opted to meet MR. XYZ via his book, if the way goes thru my pocket to a big costly bookstore. These pirated copies atleast save the authors and their creations from being obsure, coz it s general public like me, who makes them famous. The Mass governs the market !

If anything, it is a rude wake up call for the publishing industry.