i am helping my father in his business for the past 4 yrs. Is this not an experience

9 Posts  ·  78 Users
About this group
hello, I am in my final year of B. com and i will give my cat on nov. 19,2006. I have been helping my father in his "Printing" business for the past 4 yrs.. I would like to know if this experience will be counted by mba institutes during admission.
Page 1 of 1
i can't give a salary slip because it is a small family business.
but i can satisfy them if they ask any questions about it.
I would also like to know what type of experience the mba institutes give more weightage to.
I would be glad if any one could give me a guide to different weightage given to different work experience.

Dear Praveen,

Most B-schools give weigtage, or even consider only work experience at a managerial level. In family business terms, that would mean taking important decisions for the business and managing it. As already mentioned, u cant have a work experience certificate as urs is a small family business and I assume it is not registered. If it is, I guess ur father can help. One of my friend's father has a partnership firm in the medical industry and he got an experiece certificate from his dad stating him as a 'working partner'. He consequently got admission in a reputed UK university where work experience is compulsory.

Remeber, whe it comes to interviews, all that matters is how you put it across. You will have to convince them that you, at your age are mature for the industry.

All the best
regards
KK
Commenting on this post has been disabled by the moderator.
I would also like to know what type of experience the mba institutes give more weightage to.
I would be glad if any one could give me a guide to different weightage given to different work experience.

Proof is the most important thing buddy as the persons who will b interviewing u will b thoroughly professionals.Also,a full work ex is a must,otherwise it does not get any importance.