Helpline - PostCAT/ any other queries - Student, IIMC

10 Posts  ·  44 Users
About this group
Please feel free to post your queries here. Feel free to post anything u are worried about and we will be more than happy to clarify :) \- Karthik, PGDM, IIM Calcutta. You can also get in touch here - Karthik Addagarla | Facebook
Page 1 of 1

i have a problem with many of us are facing..but with a little difference.
i am a mechanical engineer,passout batch-2010, and have been working in a heavy power plant in probably the remotest region of the country.
i gave CAT in 2010 and scored about 65 %tile with no prep 😞 prepared again this year and i am expecting around 85%tile. the problem is that my work schedules are hectic and quite absurd and i work about 12 hours a day and we have no weekend offs as we get an off after 8 days.
i have been trying to adjust for over an year now but have always found it extremely difficult to manage both work and studies as i could never really make/follow a routine.
i do not to end up in an ordinary college and i want to give CAT my best shot.
i have about 17 months of work ex now.so i have 2 questions:
1- if i leave the job now and take an year off to prepare,will it be okay as the gap will be about 15-16 months wen i will sit for an interview?
2- should i delay quitting my job and leave around april/may so as to reduce the year gap.
i have absolutely no idea how these might affect, so i do not want to take a rash decision.

kindly help me out,coz the dilemma of quitting or continuing the job is killing for over a month now and i have a few exams left to try out my luck this year.My academics are below:

10th CBSE- 85%

12th CBSE- 64%

Graduation- 8.23/10

Decent extracurricular achievements.

undefined
Write a comment
Write a comment...

No idea buddy.

As you know, Don worry about these things now 😃

undefined
Write a comment
Write a comment...

Karthik..we have had a word befor my CAT..thanks man the advice worked 4 the good :D