Ask Admissionado (Formerly Precision Essay): Interactive Exercises with the PG Community

2 Posts  ·  2 Users
About this group
Hey everyone, My name is Kyn Chaturvedi, Wharton MBA, and Senior Consultant at Admissionado (_www.admissionado.com_) (Formerly _Precision Essay_). My background is in video games development. Prior to Wharton I worked for Dhruva Interactive ...
Page 1 of 1

EXERCISE #1 - Provide a catchy opening for GSB Essay 3-C: Tell us about a time in the last three years when you went beyond what was defined or established.

`

But first have a read of the Tutorial below. Then start replying with your catchy openings!

`

Tutorial #1 Sentence breakdown: a catchier introduction.

Ever wonder how to write an eye-catching introduction? Too many University applicants resort to dry stock phrases or stiff jargon and the results never make it off the ground.

`
Take this example:

After a hard day of work, I sat in my corner office, thinking of the data I just analyzed.

`
What's wrong with this picture? Well, for starters we don't really BELIEVE it and even if we did, it doesn't grab our attention at all! This applicant has already lost the reader and he hasn't even gotten past the first sentence, which is bad news when his dream school will receive thousands of essays.
`
An essay opener needs to check a few boxes: is it surprising and clever enough to grab the reader's attention? Does it hint at the content in the essay and you want to read on? Does it set the stage for the STORY the applicant is trying to tell?
`
After drilling the writer with some hard-hitting questions, here's what his revised opener looks like:

75 stories above the ground in my corner office, I realized my decisions would change the world. The feeling was indescribable: we rarely think of data analysis as glamorous but looking around I thought that from the planes in the sky to the roads on the ground, everything relied on data.

`