CMAT Eligibility Criteria 2021 - Academic Qualification and Age Limit

Common Management Admission Test (CMAT) on March 31, 2021

Candidates can get more information from official website –

CMAT Articles · CMAT Colleges · CMAT Groups

CMAT 2021 Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicant must be an Indian citizen.
  • Anyone holding Bachelors degree (graduation) in any discipline can apply for CMAT exam.
  • Final year students of Graduate Courses (12 + 3) can also apply for CMAT. Note that only those whose result will be declared before commencement of admission for academic year 2020-21 are eligible.

For any competitive exam, the candidate must qualify the basic qualification to appear for the same. If the candidate fails to fit in the eligibility criteria then the candidate cannot appear for the admission process. However, the eligibility criteria for each and every participating institutes will be different, following is the basic qualifications for the Common Management Admission Test 2021 (CMAT) and it is listed in the below table.

S.No Qualities Explanation
1 Nationality The aspirant must be a citizen of India
2 Age Limit There is no age limit
3 Educational Qualifications
  • The aspirant must hold a Bachelor degree in any discipline.
  • The candidate who is appearing for the final exam of their bachelor degree in the year of 2019-2020 is also eligible to apply


Apart from the above said basic qualifications, the participating institutes will define a certain set of eligibility criteria to get admitted into the institute. The reservation in the respected institutes will be displayed in the participating institute website.

For the central government institute, the seat allocation based on the reservation is given in the below table.

S.No Category Reservation
1 Scheduled Caste 15 %
2 Scheduled Tribe 7.5 %
3 Other Backward Class with Non Creamy layer 27 %
4 Person with Disability 5 %

The other backward class with non-creamy layer reservations will be as per the central government norms. National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) website will give the details of OBC-NCL. The candidate who fails to come under such list should write the exam under general category.


The person with not less than 40 % of the specified disability will be listed under a person with a disability. The specified disability is a disability as mentioned in the RPwD Act 2016. The candidate must specify the disability clearly initially. The changes cannot be done after the last date of the application. The following category of disability will be listed under specified disability.

  • Blindness and low vision
  • Deaf and hard of hearing
  • A locomotor disability that includes cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy
  • Autism, intellectual disability, and learning disability
  • Multiple disabilities.
  • Other ‘specified disabilities’ as mentioned under RPwD Act 2016

Facility of Scribe

For the candidates with a disability such as Blindness, locomotor disability, and cerebral Palsy scribe or lab assistant or reader facility can be availed. In such case, the candidate will have to write the letter of intent to the Centre Superintendent. He or she should submit it along with the certificate obtained from the authorized medical officer one week before the exam. The Centre Superintendent will allow a scribe who is studying one class lower than the candidate. The candidate will be allowed to meet the scribe one day before the commencement of the exam only by the request of the candidate to the Centre Superintendent. When the candidate avails the scribe facility he or she will be given one hour grace time.

All the disputes concerned with the CMAT exam 2021 will be cleared by the jury of Delhi.